Portrait

Climbing with passion – the fascination of adventure

Hello, my name is Micha Rinn. I’m a passionate alpinist, trainer for alpine climbing/performance mountaineering/ice climbing as well as a bilingual lecture speaker. As a lecturer for systemic training in climbing education, I have been working at the Institute for Sports Science at the Justus Liebig University in Gießen for over 15 years. Besides that I enjoy writing for various magazines and online portals on the topics of mountain sports and alpinism.
In 2018 and 2019, I made it on the Piolet d’Or list of the world’s most significant first ascents – the most important international award for exceptionally innovative achievements in modern alpinism.

Why do I love mountaineering so much? Well, the mountains have been a magical attraction to me from an early age – through their sheer size and presence, their wild beauty, their countless peaks as ephemeral and hostile places. Being a small part of this fascinating “universe” has always been – and still is – my great motivation. I love the explorative character of a mountain tour, especially when it comes to exploring new areas and routes or realising exciting ideas – ideally in harmony with the nature, a reliable partner and the right motivation.

Every human being has their own personal potentials, which defines them and sets them apart from everyone else. You have to act out and use this in order to achieve the best result – whether through creativity for a new route, the sporting confrontation with the mountain or the human factor, as a rope-partner or in the group. I think that’s what the mountains are all about for me. The most important things, however, are the experiences made and the insights gained from them – the real values that persist ​​in life.

Furthermore, I am very happy that we still have such incredibly wild areas on our planet. I hope that generations to come will still have the opportunity to go into the mountains and connect with nature. Because people are most likely to take action to protect those wild places they have a relationship with. For me, this is a great motivation to bring people closer to nature – be it through an individual alpine coaching in the mountains, an exciting lecture or a report. The mountains are full of energy – go and get it!

My route highlights

Intense experiences and fantastic climbing – for me the highest expression of freedom:

Interview

Listen to Outside
Stories interview

Portrait

Klettern aus Leidenschaft – die Faszination am Abenteuer

Hallo, mein Name ist Micha Rinn. Ich bin ein leidenschaftlicher Alpinist, Trainer für Eisklettern/Hochtouren/Leistungsbergsteigen und zweisprachiger Vortragsredner. Als Dozent für systemisches Training in der Kletterausbildung bin ich seit über 15 Jahren am Institut für Sportwissenschaft der Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen tätig. Daneben schreibe ich gerne für diverse Magazine und Onlineportale zu den Themen Bergsport und Alpinismus.
2018 und 2019 stand ich auf der Piolet d’Or-Liste der weltweit bedeutendsten Erstbegehungen – die wichtigste internationale Auszeichnung für außergewöhnlich innovative Leistungen im modernen Alpinismus.

Warum ich so gerne Bergsteigen gehen? Nun, die Berge haben mich schon von klein auf magisch angezogen – durch ihre schiere Größe und Präsenz, ihre wilde Schönheit, ihre unzähligen Gipfel als flüchtige und lebensfeindliche Orte. Ein kleiner Teil dieses faszinierenden „Universums“ zu sein, war immer – und ist bis heute – meine große Motivation. Ich liebe den explorativen Charakter einer Bergtour, besonders wenn es darum geht, neue Gebiete und Routen auszukundschaften oder spannende Ideen zu verwirklichen – idealerweise im Einklang mit der Natur, einem zuverlässigen Partner und der richtigen Motivation.

Jeder Mensch hat sein ganz persönlichen Potenziale, welche ihn ausmachen und von allen anderen unterscheidet. Dies gilt es auszuleben und zu nutzen, um das beste Ergebnis zu erzielen – ob durch Kreativität für eine neue Route, der sportlichen Auseinandersetzung mit dem Berg oder dem Faktor Mensch, als Seilpartner oder in der Gruppe. Ich denke das ist es, worum es mir in den Bergen geht. Das Wichtigste jedoch sind die gemachten Erfahrungen und die daraus gewonnenen Erkenntnisse, die zählen – echte Werte im Leben also, die Bestand haben.

Darüber hinaus bin ich sehr glücklich, dass wir immer noch so unglaublich wilde Gebiete auf unserer Erde haben. Ich hoffe, dass kommende Generationen auch noch die Möglichkeit haben werden, in die Berge zu gehen und in die Natur eintauchen zu können. Denn Menschen setzen sich am ehesten für den Schutz jener wilden Orte ein, zu denen sie eine Beziehung haben. Für mich ist dies eine große Motivation, Menschen die Natur näher zu bringen – sei es durch ein individuelles Alpin Coaching in den Bergen, einen spannenden Vortrag oder eine Reportage. Die Bergwelt steckt voller Energie – hol sie dir!

Meine Routen-Highlights

Intensive Erlebnisse und fantastische Kletterei – für mich der größte Ausdruck von Freiheit:

Interview

Outside Stories
Interview anhören